Skip to main content
Vidyard Knowledge Center

Set and manage role permissions

Creating roles within a Vidyard group allows you to control the permissions of different groups of users. This can help you to delegate specific responsibilities various users.

When it comes to aligning Vidyard to your internal corporate structure, it is important to consider the roles and associated permissions for those involved in controlling the scope of your Vidyard account as well as the player customization and publishing abilities.

Vidyard offers a variety of permissions so they can be tailored for any you might need!

To view and manage role permissions: 

  1. In the Account menu, click Groups and Users.
    Groups and Users in Account menu
     
  2. Click Manage Users next to the group whose permissions you would like to configure.
    Manage users button
     
  3. Click Options, then Edit Permissions to view permissions for a particular role.
    Edit permissions button
     
  4. On the Editing Permissions for User page you will see a list of possible permissions for that role. Toggle the switches ON or OFF to determine that permissions for that role.
  5. Once you have finished defining the permissions for that role, click Save.

Available Permissions

See the list below for a description of each of the available permissions:

Configure role permissions page

 

Players

Create Players - Create players and upload videos, embed players, and share players to social networks

Edit Players -  Change Splash Screens, create Events (Calls-to-action), add players to Sitemap, embed players, and share players to social networks

Access Studio – Able to access Vidyard Studio. 

View Asset Manager – Able to access the Asset Manager.

View Account History - View player history after clicking edit on a player and scrolling to the bottom (Users must already have the ability to create players and edit players).

Edit Player Style & Restrictions -  Change player style, set players to be restricted to Chatter, change player advanced options.

Push to YouTube - Push a video to YouTube and sync YouTube name, description and thumbnail

Push to Facebook - Push a video to Facebook pages or timelines and sync video metadata.

Notify About New Players - Users can receive an email notification about New Players.

Transfer players to groups - Users can transfer players to any other group that they are in. Users must have this permission in both the sending and receiving groups. 

Features

In the features column, toggle feature permissions to ON or OFF to control which features users in with this role will have access to in your group.

Users and Groups

Toggle Users and Groups permissions to determine what level of access this role has to creating and configuring users, groups, and roles.

Hubs

If you have Hubs enabled, toggle these permissions to determine whether or not users assigned to this role can create and edit Video Hubs. 

Don’t forget to click Save when you’re finished!

  • Was this article helpful?