Use Folder settings to apply defaults to your videos
Many settings you can configure for individual videos can also be set up as defaults for the content in a folder.
Defaults are useful because they give you an easy way to apply consistent design, AI customization, or access settings to videos across the various folders in your account.
For example, you might use defaults to ensure all videos in a folder match the colors in your brand guidelines or that captions always appear automatically for viewers.
- What types of settings can be set as a default?
- How defaults work
- Change a folder's default settings
- Overriding default settings
- Re-inheriting default settings
What types of settings can be set as a default?
There are 3 types of settings that can be applied to your videos as defaults:
👉 Video design settings (how your videos look and behave). These include video colors, the video controls available to viewers, and playback behaviors like autoplay.
- Learn more about the design settings that you can apply to your videos
👉 AI Customization settings (automatic generation of titles, descriptions, and chapters on your videos). These let you choose which aspects you want to be automatically generated for each video type in the folder.
- Learn more about the design settings that you can apply to your videos
👉 Video access settings (who can watch your videos). You may want to ensure that all videos in a folder can only be watched by authorized viewers.
- Learn more about how to restrict videos to viewers within an IP range
- Learn more about how to restrict videos to viewers with a secure platform
How defaults work
When using folder-level settings to establish defaults, there are some important behaviors to note:
- 👉 Changes to default settings apply to all videos contained within a folder except for videos that have already been given their own unique settings.
- 👉 The folder(s) where you choose to set defaults is important. When you set defaults at the top-level "parent folder" in your account, the settings will cascade and apply to the videos in any subfolders as well. While this lets you easily apply settings across the videos in multiple folders, it also requires you to think carefully about the relationship between folders (parent folders vs subfolders).
- 👉 If necessary, you can always override default settings on a per-video or per-folder basis. This allows you to configure unique settings for videos that differ from the established defaults.
When editing settings for a video or folder, the page will always indicate (if applicable) where defaults are being inherited from and provide the option to override them.
Change a folder's default settings
Defaults are managed within the various folders in your account. Open a folder's settings to manage the design, AI customization, or access defaults.
- Select the Library button from the navigation menu
-
Select the folder where you want to change your default settings
- If necessary, use the folder menu to switch into a different folder
-
Click on the settings button next to the folder name, then select Settings
- Select the type of setting you want to change:
- Use the Video Design tab to change default design and AI customization settings for the folder
- Use the Sharing tab to change default access settings for the folder
Overriding default settings
While defaults are an effective way to apply settings at scale, you may also want to make exceptions and configure unique settings for some videos. That's why you can choose to "opt out" or override default settings in two different ways:
- override the default settings on a specific video within a folder
- override the default settings on an entire folder
Override defaults on a video
Default settings apply to all videos within a folder. You can override the defaults to configure unique design and access settings on specific videos.
Select the title of a video from your library to open the edit page
To override the default design settings:
- Select the Settings tab
- Under the Player Design section, select Override to continue and change the video's design settings as needed
To override default access settings:
- Select the Sharing tab
- Click on the Change button, then select a different access setting for the video
Override defaults on a folder
When set up at the top-level parent folder in your account, default settings will cascade and apply to the videos in any subfolders as well.
While this allows you to apply consistent settings account-wide, you may also want to configure unique design, AI customization, and access settings for an entire folder of videos based on their intended purpose and audience.
-
Select the settings button next to the folder name, then select Settings
- Select the type of settings that you want to change (design or access):
- Click on the Video Design tab to change the design or AI customization settings for the folder
- Click on the Sharing tab to change the access settings for the folder
- Select Override to exempt the folder from the inherited defaults and change the settings as needed
- To override AI Customization defaults, make a change. You will then see an option to revert to the previously inherited defaults.
Re-inheriting default settings
If a video has been given its own unique settings, you can always re-inherit the design or access defaults from the folder.
Similarly, you can also make a folder re-inherit defaults from the parent folder in the account.
Re-inherit default settings on a video
To re-inherit the folder's default design settings:
- Select a video from your library to open the edit page
- Select the Settings tab
- Open the menu next the Player Design settings (the three dots), then select Revert to Defaults
To re-inherit the folder's default access settings:
- Select a video from your library to open the edit page
- Select the Sharing tab, then click on Change
- Select Reset to Default
Re-inherit default settings on a folder
- Select the Settings button next to the folder name, then select Settings
- Select the type of settings you want to change (design or access):
- Click on the Video Design tab to change the design or AI customization settings for the folder
- Click on the Sharing tab to change the access settings for the folder
-
Open the menu next to the currently selected setting (the three dots), then select Inherit from Parent
- For AI Customization settings, select Revert to defaults