How to add and manage folders
Use folders to find and organize your videos 📁
Folders in Vidyard work just like file folders on your computer; they help organize and manage both your personal library and videos you share with other members of your team.
On Starter, Teams, and Enterprise plans, folders also organize your videos' analytics and apply important settings and configurations: your videos' default settings, sharing page theme, and integrations. Learn more about how folders organize your account.
Add a new folder
When you create a new folder, it gets added to where you're currently located in the folder structure of your account. Make sure to first go to the location in your library where you want to add a new folder. Otherwise, you can move the folder after it's been added.
- Sign in to your Vidyard account, then select the Library from the main menu
- If necessary, switch into the folder where you want the new folder to be added
- Select New > Folder in the top right-hand corner of your library
- Enter a name for your new folder, then select Create
Move a folder
You can move a folder to a different location in your account. Shared folders can be moved into other shared folders, while personal subfolders can only be moved within the user's main personal folder.
When you move a folder, all of its contents (including any subfolders and their contents) transfer to the new location: videos, analytics, actions, hubs, reports, and more.
Any shared folder you move will also begin to inherit default design & access settings, its sharing page, and integrations from its new parent folder, unless you had previously chosen to Override or "opt out" of inheriting any of these types of configurations.
Moving a folder to another location may also change which Team(s) have access to its contents.
- Open the menu (3 dots) next to the folder you want to move, then select Move
- Select where you want to move the folder
- If needed, click on the arrow next to a folder to open it and select its subfolders
- If needed, click on the arrow next to a folder to open it and select its subfolders
- Select Move to confirm
Rename a folder
A folder name helps you and team members identify where to find videos in your library and understand their intended purpose.
Folder names have a limit of 250 characters and cannot contain percentage symbols (%) or angled brackets (< or >).
You can rename a folder in 1 of 2 ways:
- Select the settings icon next to the folder name, then select Rename
- Open the menu (3 dots) next to a folder name, then select Rename
Delete a folder
Deleting a folder is permanent and cannot be reversed. When you delete a folder, all of its contents (videos, analytics, actions, hubs, and reports) are also deleted. Any integrations in the folder will disconnect.
If needed, certain items can be saved or moved to keep historical data before deletion.
To delete a folder:
- Find the folder in your library that you want to delete
- Open the menu (3 dots) next to the folder, then select Delete
- Select Delete again to confirm
Personal folders
Personal folders help individual users organize their videos in a way that makes the most sense to them. You can further group your videos by creating subfolders within your personal folder.
When you create a subfolder within your personal folder, things work a little differently than in their shared folder counterparts.
- All customizations to the sharing page, player design, hubs, or folder Actions inherit from your main personal folder. You cannot make individual customizations for each subfolder.
- You can only move personal subfolders within your personal folder. You cannot move them to shared folders.
Frequently asked questions
How many folders can I create?
There is no limit on the number of folders you can create. However, you cannot nest folders more than 8 levels in depth. If you try to exceed 8 levels, you will receive the following error:
Can I save my folder's contents before I delete it?
You can save some of a folder's contents before you delete them.
-
Move your videos to another folder
- The analytics associated with your videos will move to the new folder as well. You'll see the updated analytics reflected in the Insights Dashboard after 24 hours.
- Run a report to keep track of historical analytics
If you want to preserve any custom code from the folder's sharing page, video hubs, or Actions (CTAs), you can copy the HTML/CSS and JavaScript from the code editors for these assets before deleting the folder.
- Copy your custom sharing page design
- Copy your custom video hub design
- Copy custom code from an Action (CTA)
If I move a folder, what contents move with it?
When you move a personal subfolder, all videos in that subfolder move with it.
When you move a shared folder, everything moves with it. This includes:
- Videos
- Analytics
- Reports
- Video Hubs
- Actions (CTAs)
- Uploader widgets
- Subfolders (including all of their contents)
The moved folder will also begin to inherit default design & access settings, its sharing page, and integrations from its new parent folder, unless you previously chose to Override or "opt out" of inheriting any of these types of configurations.